Introduction to UOSM2008

Hi, my name is Madeleine Conway and I am a 3rd year geography student at the University of Southampton. This blog has been created as a part of the UOSM module, Living and Working on the Web; where each week a new blog will be posted concerning a different topic. By selecting this highly-regarded module, I believe I will greatly improve my digital literacy and understanding of the ever-evolving world we currently live in, and also gain an extremely valuable set of skills for a 21st century workplace.

As part of the module introduction, we were asked to complete a self-assessment form where we rated and described our experience with the digital world, which can be seen below.

UOSM2008 Digital Profile – Self Test

Please indicate on a scale of 1 – 5 (where 1 is no experience, and 5 is very experienced) how you would rate your current level of digital literacy against the following criteria:

Rating at start of module Comments Rating at end of module Comments
Accessing, managing and evaluating online information 2 University research projects have fostered a relative efficiency in accessing and evaluating information, as being critical is a key component of 3rd year work.
Participating in online communities 2 I have accounts with the most popular platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat and Whatsapp. However, I have a LinkedIn account and do not know how to use it – and this is arguably one of the most important in terms of professionalism.
Building online networks around an area of interest 1 I can’t say I’ve ever done this. The creation of this blog is perhaps the only experience I have in this particular area.
Collaborating with others on shared projects 3 This is a frequent task at University, with group projects and presentations being a popular method of assessment, so yes I do have relative experience with this and adapt to it well.
Creating online materials (text, audio, images, video) 2 I have a very basic skill level and experience with this. I’ve never known how to create my own images, apart from using Paint and manipulative software such as GIMP for my art GCSE. This is the primary area I’d like to develop throughout my time on the module.
Managing your online identity 3 I feel I can manage my online presence relatively well. It’s primarily comprised of social media accounts which are all maintained in a relatively professional manner – I am very aware that many employers may choose to browse these profiles in the future.
Managing your online privacy and security 4 Linking to the points made above, I keep all of my social media accounts private, and I am very proficient in spotting scam emails and security threats etc.

Q1 Why did you choose the module?

– I thought it looked quite interesting and different to things I’ve done before. It offers a really applicable set of skills that suit any discipline. Also, the ‘online nature’ of the module was quite appealing to me considering the typical workload of the 3rd year at university.

Q2 What in particular do you want to learn from the module?

– I’m very interested in how to create graphics, as I’ve never done anything like that before.

Q3 Which degree programme are you studying?

– Geography

Q4 Have you studied online before?

– I have in the sense that I’ve furthered my learning from traditional teaching through research. Also, my dissertation was based upon a digitised archive collection, but I have not studied an entire subject solely online before.

Leave a Reply

